BJP releases Rajya Sabha list

Hannah Rogers
March 10, 2018

With a number of Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant, the Bharatiya Janata Party has nominated finance minister Arun Jaitley as a candidate for the upper house from Uttar Pradesh.

As per the numbers in the Gujarat Assembly, only two members from the BJP can be sent to the Rajya Sabha.

The party on Wednesday announced the names of eight Union ministers and one general secretary for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls in various states. Bhupender Yadav, the general secretary of the BJP will contest from Rajasthan.

Already, a state election committee has been constituted, which will soon hold a meeting and recommend names to the screening committee which will further suggest the names to the central committee, he said.

Iran pushes Europe to pressure U.S. on nuclear deal
Zarif countered that Europe needed to "play a more constructive role to preserve" the nuclear deal, France24 TV Network said. But American sanctions against Iran remain, hindering foreign companies outside of the U.S. from doing business with Tehran.

With elections to four Rajya Sabha seats scheduled for April 24, there is heavy lobbying for the tickets in both the Congress and the BJP in the state. While chances of Pitroda getting a seat from the state are bright, the other might go to Gujarat Congress chief Bharat Sinh Solanki. Last date for filing nomination was March 12 while scrutiny of paperswould be done next day, Mr Rai said adding that willing candidates couldwithdraw their nominations by March 15.

The polling and counting of votes for 59 Rajya Sabha seats will take place on 23 March and the election is significant because almost a fourth of the Upper House is going to polls and it could impact the arithmetic of the house. For the then election to three seats, senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel was one of the candidates.

Earlier, the Lok Sabha could not transact Question Hour and the moment obituary references with regard to former Members of the House was made and a brief silence observed, MPs belonging to Telegu Desam Party, Trinamool Congress and others trooped into the well of the House, raising slogans.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article