Arun Jaitley To Contest Rajya Sabha Polls From Uttar Pradesh: BJP

Hannah Rogers
March 12, 2018

Bose claimed that the Left Front was forced to name CPI-M leader Rabin Deb as their candidate for the fifth Rajya Sabha seat in the state.

By fielding a Vokkaliga leader as the third candidate, it has put the JD (S) in a spot. A candidate needs 44 votes to win and Congress is confident of winning three seats comfortably as the party can count on the support of some independents and 7 JD (S) rebel MLAs.

The BJP announced 15 more candidates, including its general secretary Saroj Pandey from Chhattisgarh, Anil Jain from Uttar Pradesh and spokespersons Anil Baluni and GVL Narsimha Rao from Uttarakhand and UP respectively.

Siddaramaiah had suggested that the AHINDA (minorities, backward classes and Dalits) formula, which has worked successfully for him and for the Congress party, be applied to the Rajya Sabha seats for which polls are being held on March 23.

Lt. Gen (Retd.) DP Vats has been nominated from Haryana. The election is slated on March 23 and the results will be out on the same day after 5 PM. Other candidates from Uttar Pradesh are Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Dr Anil Jain and Harnath Singh Yadav.

Real Madrid beat Eibar 2-1 in La Liga
But a defensive error allowed Dani Carvajal to cross and Ronaldo headed in. The victory moves Real four points within second-placed Atletico Madrid.

The Congress list of 10 candidates Sunday includes veteran journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra, and former Union minister Naranbhai Ratwa and the party's familiar television face Amee Yajnik from Gujarat.

Two BJP leaders Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni will be trying their luck for Upper House from Madhya Pradesh.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane has also been named for the RS berth. It also chose Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar.

While, Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), Janta Dal (United) were the other parties who announced the names of the candidates for Rajya Sabha.

The JD (U) has made a decision to repeat its two candidates - tycoon Mahendra Prasad, popularly known as "King Mahendra", who is up for his eighth term, and Vashishtha Narayan Singh.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article