BJP will repeat 2014 Lok Sabha record: Keshav Prasad Maurya on bypolls

Hannah Rogers
March 12, 2018

Uttar Pradesh deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya on Sunday expressed confidence that BJP will emerge victorious in Lok Sabha bypolls, voting for which is now underway in Gorakhpur and Phulpur.

Voting for the by-elections to Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats, which began on a tiresome note today, picked up momentum by noon amid tight security arrangements to ensure free and fair polling.

After casting his vote in Gorakhpur, Adityanath claimed the BJP was getting widespread support from the people. Watch News Nation's Speed News to stay updated with all the latest news all over the world.

The polling for Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha bye-elections in Gorakhpur and Phulpur has begun. Asked about the SP and BSP entering an electoral understanding, Adityanath said it would have no effect on the outcome of the polls.

Similarly, in Phulpur, the poll percentage dropped from around 50 per cent in 2014 to around 38 per cent on Sunday.

Ten candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are contesting from Phulpur.

Cleveland Browns agree to trade DL Danny Shelton to New England Patriots
Shelton , a three-year National Football League veteran, has one year remaining on his rookie deal. This trade marks the fourth that Browns general manager John Dorsey has made in the last 16 hours.

Forty percent of the electorate had voted in Gorakhpur - vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath - till 4 pm while a low 29 per cent turnout was recorded in Phulpur till that time.

The state BJP chief had reportedly told voters in Araria that if in case the RJD candidate wins, then Araria may become the hub for ISI activities.

Gorakhpur is the parliamentary constituency and stronghold of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. After a high-voltage campaign and Alliance of Congress, BSP, and SP, now the stage is set for voting in Uttar Pradesh's Phulpur and Gorakhpur parliamentary constituencies.

The saffron party has fielded Pandey's wife Rinky Rani and her principal challenger is Congress candidate Shambhu Singh Patel. Counting of ballots will be taken up on March 14. CM Yogi Aditya Nath cast his vote at booth number 250 at a primary girls' school in Gorakhpur and said he was confident of BJP victory in Gorakhpur and Phulpur.

The bye-elections are being watched with much eagerness as this is the first electoral battle in the state since last year's political realignment when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who also heads the JD (U), walked out of the Grand Alliance and rejoined the BJP-led NDA.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article