RS:Upset with Yajnik's candidature,Guj Mahila Cong chief quits

Hannah Rogers
March 14, 2018

L.Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and G.C. Chandrashekar-for the 23 March Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka in what seems to be a carefully planned caste balance strategy from the party.

"Congress President Rahul Gandhi has approved the proposal for the candidature of Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Bihar and Lekhram Sahu from Chhattisgarh for the Rajya Sabha election", AICC general secretary Oscar Fernandes said in a release on Monday.

In Madhya Pradesh, party cadres who have worked for years have been rewarded - state vice-president and key election strategist Ajay Pratap Singh, and Kailash Soni, who has held many posts in the organisation.

The main Opposition RJD fielded Delhi University professor Manoj Jha, who is also the national spokesperson of the RJD.

Republican member of House Intel Committee says it has 'lost all credibility'
And it criticised the Obama administration for "a lacklustre pre-election response to Russian active measures ". President Trump touted the GOP majority's conclusion in a Tweet Monday night.

The ruling BJP in Gujarat would want to defeat the Congress for the setback it suffered after Ahmed Patel managed to win the Rajya Sabha seat in 2017. Three nominated members - actor Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and social worker Anu Aga - will also retire then. BM Farooq filed nomination as a JDS candidate. Valera filed his nomination papers apparently with the support of some Congress MLAs, after two official candidates Amiben Yagnik and tribal leader Naran Rathwa filed their forms.

Extending his best wishes to BJP National General Secretary Saroj Pandey on her filing nominations for Rajya Sabha, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh said now that the nomination process has been completed, it is for sure that she will be elected to Rajya Sabha. In all, 14 candidates have filed their nominations for election to the 10 seats. Going by this statistic, if MLAs of both the parties vote as per their party whip, both Congress and BJP are poised to win two seats each. The party has now fielded two candidates and backed one independent candidate. However, with no choice left, the JD (S) now makes a plan forward, to get ahead with the political game.

Among the other Union Ministers who would be contesting the RS polls are Thawar Chand Gehlot, Mansukh L Mandaviya, Parshottam Rupala, Jagat Prakash Nadda and Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Besides Chaturvedi, senior leaders such as Suresh Pachauri, former Mahila Congress chief Shobha Oza and State Congress president Arun Yadav were in contention for the seat in MP.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article