Modric, Cristiano and Salah lead Uefa player of year nominees

Tyler Owen
August 21, 2018

Mohamed Salah was able to lead the Reds to the 2017/18 Champions League final match in Kiev, but was not able to continue the match as he picked up a shoulder injury following a heavy challenge with Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos.

Ronaldo on the other hand also won the Champions League title last season with Real Madrid which was his fifth time. Messi and Barca also won the Copa De Rey, so Messi would be well within his rights to be a bit miffed for his shortlist omission. And Salah stood out for Liverpool at the Champions Cup.

"Players are judged on their performances in all competitions - domestic, continental and worldwide", UEFA said in a statement.

Modrić was even awarded with the Golden Ball in recognition for his performances at the World Cup, a trophy last has previously been one by the likes of Lionel Messi, Ronaldo Nazário and the late Johan Cruyff.

The victor of the award will be announced on August 30th during the draw for the Champions League group stages in Monaco.

Elon Musk Opens up About the "Excruciating" Year He's Had
The Tesla board also briefly sought out a strong No. 2 to Musk - but has given up on that endeavor, according to the Times report. Musk's revealing interview, and the subsequent reports about Tesla , gave the internet a lot of material for jokes and reactions.

Croatia star, Modric played in the 2018 World Cup having defeated by France. Ronaldo was also instrumental in the Champions League, finding the back of the net 15 times in 13 appearances as Los Blancos went on to lift a third consecutive title.

Ronaldo, who joined Juventus from Real Madrid for £99.2m in July, won the male award in 2017, while Dutch midfielder Lieke Martens won the women's honour shortly after leaving Swedish club Rosengard for Barcelona.

The Portuguese, who has three wins in total, is the only player to have made the shortlist every year since UEFA created the award in 2011.

The nominees for the women's award are France's Amandine Henry and Norway's Ada Hegerberg, who both won the Champions League with Lyon, and Denmark's Pernille Harder, who lost in the final with Wolfsburg.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article