How to watch the 2018 Ballon d'Or online, TV

Tyler Owen
December 4, 2018

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have each won the last 10 Ballon d'Or awards, but after Luka Modric's triumphs over Ronaldo for UEFA and FIFA's best player awards and with his World Cup Golden Ball, it's possible the Croatian star completes the sweep with the voters for France Football's honor.

In 2018, Modric won his third consecutive Champions League trophy with club side Real Madrid and led Croatia to their first World Cup final, losing 4-2 to France.

Ronaldo may not have defended his crown, but he can at least lay claim to being the runner-up, while Antoine Griezmann made up the top-three.

Despite helping Barcelona canter to a domestic double last term, Lionel Messi could only muster a fifth place finish, his lowest ever finish since 2006 some 12 years ago, as Argentina crash out of the World Cup in the Round of 16.

"It's a unique feeling. You can have your opinion of Griezmann, Mbappe, Giroud, Lloris, Modric.but the only player to have won everything is Raphael Varane".

North Korean soldier defects to South
The first will go through central North Korea and along the northwestern coast to the city of Sinuiju near the Chinese border. The South Korean military spotted the suspected defector crossing the military demarcation line that separates the border .

Alongside the Ballon d'Or, the inaugural Trophee Kopa award was also handed out at the ceremony in Paris, with Paris Saint-Germain striker Kylian Mbappe scooping the award for best young player under the age of 21.

In September, Modric was handed the FIFA Men's Best Player award from FIFA president Gianni Infantino and the former Spurs midfielder has completed a stellar year by adding the most prestigious individual prize in football to his collection at a ceremony in Paris.

Despite the impressive statistics, Ronaldo is expected to miss out on the Ballon d'Or tonight.

The Portuguese superstar also equalled a 61-year-old Juve record.

Voting for the Ballon d'Or is conducted by an global panel of journalists who selected the victor from a list of 30 candidates.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article